nrm2492

all messages by user

7/1/2017
Topic:
Just Getting Started in Collecting..

nrm2492
nrm2492
Hello Everyone,

I'm just beginning to get started in collecting. All of this is a bit overwhelming, and not really even sure to start outside of some characters and cartoons I was really interested in as a child growing up. Should I start with "First Appearances" and some "Number 1's,"? I'm looking for any ideas on some issues I should try to get my hands on that may have some future value without also breaking the bank...

Looking forward to everyone's insight. Have a great 4th!

Nathan
7/2/2017
Topic:

nrm2492
nrm2492
First of all, thank you so much for your detailed submission! I really appreciate it. This gives me a lot to think about and research. I'm sure as I progress, I will learn so much more. What are your thoughts on grading? What should be graded versus not? Newer comics okay? Older comics best? Or just comics that are of special interest to me that I seek to preserve for the long-term? Have a great 4th friend!
7/2/2017
Topic:

nrm2492
nrm2492
Thanks for the recommendations Dav1. Have a great one!
7/5/2017
Topic:

nrm2492
nrm2492
Gilgandra wrote:
First of welcome to the boards & to the best collecting medium in the world, It's additive once you get that knowledge in your head.

*What cartoons did you grow up watching?
*Are you into superhero or the darker stuff?

Everyone may say just collect keys or 1st App. but there is so much more out there!
Anyhoo! here are some books you should have as a start ...

Marvel Comics:
ASM (Amazing Spider-Man) #298-300 (1st App: Venom & Todd McFarlane artwork). There are too many ASM books to mention here that one would collect.
ASM #238 with Lakeside Tattooz insert.
Fantastic Four #252 also with Lakeside Tattooz insert
Star Wars #1 & 2 (1st app: Star Wars characters pre movie). #42 1st App: Boba Fett & #68 (Boba Fett cover) lastly #107 HTF. the whole series is cool & any book in high grade would be a good buy.