Just Getting Started in Collecting.. Messages in this topic - RSS

nrm2492
nrm2492

7/1/2017

nrm2492
nrm2492
Hello Everyone,

I'm just beginning to get started in collecting. All of this is a bit overwhelming, and not really even sure to start outside of some characters and cartoons I was really interested in as a child growing up. Should I start with "First Appearances" and some "Number 1's,"? I'm looking for any ideas on some issues I should try to get my hands on that may have some future value without also breaking the bank...

Looking forward to everyone's insight. Have a great 4th!

Nathan
0 link
Gilgandra
Gilgandra

7/1/2017

Gilgandra
Gilgandra
First of welcome to the boards & to the best collecting medium in the world, It's additive once you get that knowledge in your head.

*What cartoons did you grow up watching?
*Are you into superhero or the darker stuff?

Everyone may say just collect keys or 1st App. but there is so much more out there!
Anyhoo! here are some books you should have as a start ...

Marvel Comics:
ASM (Amazing Spider-Man) #298-300 (1st App: Venom & Todd McFarlane artwork). There are too many ASM books to mention here that one would collect.
ASM #238 with Lakeside Tattooz insert.
Fantastic Four #252 also with Lakeside Tattooz insert
Star Wars #1 & 2 (1st app: Star Wars characters pre movie). #42 1st App: Boba Fett & #68 (Boba Fett cover) lastly #107 HTF. the whole series is cool & any book in high grade would be a good buy.
Silver Surfer Vol.3 #34, #44-50 All Thanos & Infinity Gauntlet Related.
Thanos Quest #1-2. Same as above.

DC Comics:
Batman Adventures #1-36. Plus Annuals & Special (Mad Love).
Batman #423 (Todd McFarlane Cover), #426-429 (Death in the Family Story-line).
Preacher #1-66. including all specials & one-shots.
Tales of the Teen Titans #44 first Nightwing
Superman Adventures #4-5 Cameo & 1st App: Livewire.
Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen #134 1st App: Darkseid (in a tiny panel Lol)
Forever People #1 first full Darkseid.