Need help. Newbie here. Messages in this topic - RSS

MissyLizzy77
MissyLizzy77

12/21/2016

MissyLizzy77
MissyLizzy77
I came across some older comic cleaning out my late uncles basement. I've looked up a couple and man do I wish they were in mint shape because I would be in the money.. is there ano actually picture I can look at that shows the look of a comic as it goes from perfect to the worst.. I hope this isn't a stupid question. I just need a visual in order to say what shape mine are in
Thanks in advance

MissyLizzy77
0 link
netstuffers
netstuffers
Administrator

12/22/2016

netstuffers
netstuffers
Administrator
Sorry, there's not really anything like that because grading is extremely subjective and there's as much inside the book that can affect a grade as there is on the cover.

Here's our guide though, which can give you some tips!

http://comicspriceguide.com/comic-book-grading
+1 link
sclingerman
sclingerman

1/6/2017

sclingerman
sclingerman
Read what netstuffers said to read. Get sort of a good idea of what a comic is... an 8-ish, or a 6-ish, or a 4-ish. Remember to look for those internal things in netstuffers link like Page Color, and "Missing Pages", and "Pages Missing", etc.
Then to help finalize it, go visual and Google "Comic Graded 4.0" and "Comic Graded 5.0"(looking at the "Images" section of Google)... and see examples of what the Grading Companies give comics.

Grading comics take YEARS of education and practice.

The good news - This should help you a lot for at least getting to a 6.0 versus 7.0 decision, or 5.0 versus 6.0 decision.
The bad news - (1) For valuable comics, a half point difference can make a big difference even at lower grades. (2) You can get 3 people who say "It's a 6.0." and the buyer will say "It's a 5.5... maybe a 5.0." Because as netstuffer said "because grading is extremely subjective". Even Grading Companies have multiple people grade one comic before it gets a grade.