TTA 35 -- question re potential PGX typo Messages in this topic - RSS

stephanm
stephanm

10/26/2022

stephanm
stephanm
Hi,
I just won (well, remains to be seen if it's a "win" ;-) Tales to Astonish 35 in an auction.

A PGX graded 3.5, for EUR 450 (which is pretty exactly US$ 450 these days).
If it were a 3.5, I suppose it's an excellent price.

I very much doubt it a 3.5, though -- in the photos the spine looks terribly distressed.

(I attach the three photos the seller put online for the auction -- I hope they are visible, as I have limited experience posting photos on the Forum. (That stuff about the

Apart from the spine problems, it really does look like a 3.5, but severe spine damage is a serious thing.
But I was aware of that, and even if it turns out to be a 3.0 (or even a 2.5) I think it's an OK deal.

Any comments welcome (also whether I should crack the case -- I am not a fan of slabs anyway, as I like to read (and look at) my comics, PGX doesn't add much in terms of value anyway, and I'd rather know whether there are any hidden horrors in this supposed 3.5, for example a loose cover)

But my main question is the following:

PGX put an issue date of "10/72" on their label.
TTA 35 is more than ten years older than that, of course -- 9/62

The book looks totally like the original 1962 version, and I have never heard of a a 1972 reprint of the issue, so I am reasonably relaxed about it and assume it is just a typo by PGX.

Does anyone on the forum have any experience with similar label errors by PGX? (seems like a silly error to make. If it were just the year, or just the month that's off -- but two errors?)

Thanks in advance for any advice/feedback!

Stephan
0 link
aarondawe
aarondawe

10/26/2022

aarondawe
aarondawe