Inhumans for the new reader...guidance please? Messages in this topic - RSS

gopherbadgerfamily
gopherbadgerfamily

1/29/2016

I'll come right out and admit...I'm new to the super hero realm of comics...but for my first venture, I think I want to be different and hitch my initial wagon to the Inhumans. From TV...to possibly a movie?...they seem to be growing in popularity, a storyline/concept I think sounds interesting, but unfortunately my local comic book shop only has Uncanny Inhumans 1 and 4, and All New Inhumans 2 and 3. Please understand that it's not economically feasible for me to get every comic they're featured in (but man, wouldn't that be great?!), so I'm wondering if this apparent resurgence in 2014/2015 is something I can hop on, get familiar with, and it'll feed into the future storylines for this group? From what I've gathered, a good place to start is to locate Inhuman 1 - 14, the Annual, and the Special from 2014 - 2015. That will feed into 2015 Uncanny Inhumans, and I need to plug those holes with issues 0, 2, and 3, AND then get the 2016 All New Inhumans issue 1 to help follow the movement of Nu Inhumans that coincides with Uncanny. So are those two titles (Uncanny / All New) the only Inhumans' centered titles running currently? All the others appearances seem to be tied into all the other characters' storylines? Fantastic Four appears to be the beginning, but then there's a series that started volume 1 in 1975, but volume 2 wasn't until 1998, and then volume 6 in 2003? It's very hard for me to follow, and intimidating, and that's why I've stuck with the comics I read. Then there are all the mini series, or one shots, or runs that I honestly don't know if they're relevant or limited, i.e. recently Attilan Rising...saw some places say it's ongoing and essential...then saw some say it's 5 issues and ended in 2015 with no lead-ins to anything? Again...super confusing/overwhelming...so I guess the long story longer is...am I on the right track with m